Skip to content
April 6, 2008 / Διαγόρας ο Μήλιος

What about the other ships?

KyreniaOnce, in one of my trips between Melos and Athens, we encountered very bad weather, and the ship was in danger of sinking. The Captain ordered that the sail be taken completely down and that part of the cargo be thrown overboard. All members of the crew were rowing, while we, the passengers, were frantically tossing water out of the ship.

One of the sailors, who happened to have heard about me, started convincing the others that they had brought the wrath of the gods upon them by accepting me on board. They were going to toss me in the sea together with the cargo, and I had to come up with something clever to say, and I had to make it quick.

This is what I told them: “And what about all the other ships which are struggling with the bad weather in the Aegean Sea at this moment? Do you think Diagoras of Melos is on board each one of them?”

Copyright © 2008 Diagoras of Melos

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. J-399 Skoda / Feb 28 2011 2:54 am

    This actually answered my drawback, thank you!

  2. produkcja zwierzęca forum / Mar 1 2011 2:28 am

    you will have a terrific blog right here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

Leave a Reply

