Skip to content
June 6, 2008 / Διαγόρας ο Μήλιος

WordPress feature request: Hall of Shame

On Thu, Jun 05, 2008, 0:11 Greece time I sent the following message to WordPress support:

Subject: Feature request: Hall of Shame

As I am sure you know very well, one very serious issue with blogging is censorship. As a blogger, I sometimes receive a comment which really needs to go, but I hate to engage in censorship. One solution that I have found to this problem is to create a special page called “Hall of Shame” (actually, there is no such concept in Greek, so I call it with the Greek equivalent of “spittoon”,) and to move offending comments there. When I do this, I replace the text of the original comment with the text “this comment has been moved to the Hall of Shame”, and I provide a link to it there. The problem is, it takes many clicks and copying and pasting to achieve this. Therefore, one very good feature which you could add to WordPress, and which would have a positive overall effect on the phenomenon of censorship in blogging in general, is to provide us with the ability to move a comment to the Hall of Shame with just a single click. Please note that this is a bit more complicated than just providing us with the option of moving a comment to a different post / page, since the original comment needs (optionally) to be replaced with a “this comment has been moved to such and such” message.

Thanks a lot,
Diagoras of Melos.

Minutes later, I received the following confirmation:

[WordPress #NCF-946625]: [comments]

[diagoras.wordpress.com] Feature request: Hall of Shame

Hi,

Thanks for your suggestion. I have added this to our user suggestion list which is reviewed on a regular basis.

Cheers,
Marianne

Let’s keep our fingers crossed…

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. deviousdiva / Jun 6 2008 11:06 am

    Sounds great !

    I’d use it.

  2. Paul / Feb 5 2011 4:03 pm

    I will add this blog to my favorites, it is great.

  3. Watch The Beaver / Feb 23 2011 4:46 pm

    Can I clone your article to my blog? Thank you…

  4. dating tokyo / Feb 24 2011 8:25 am

    Your server keeps crashing. I’ve been to this website two occasions yesterday and typically situations the page doesn’t load. What webhosting company do you use ?

  5. naprawa sterownika PSG5 / Feb 28 2011 2:54 am

    Your house is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  6. youth ministry / Feb 28 2011 1:25 pm

    Overcome weight problems and learn to love exercise.

  7. produkcja zwierzęca / Mar 1 2011 2:28 am

    you’ve got an important weblog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

Leave a Reply

